Welcome

Coordinator
Aug 19, 2013 at 4:19 AM
Edited Aug 19, 2013 at 4:20 AM
Thanks for trying out Face Fusion.

Please let me know what you think.
Sep 11, 2013 at 4:40 PM
Hi Joshua Blake, really a great Job! I'm a student of Computer Science at University of Verona (Italy) and in these months I've worked hard with windows kinect for my final degree project.
My application tries to detect the face (not the whole head) of an user in front of kinect and exports the relative mesh. This is done using the FaceTracking library and the Fusion library. But I've still some problems to export only the face, because I can't select the portion of volume to reconstruction.
I see in your source code that this application make a lot of processing, but I still can't understand where the cropping of the volume it's done. I mean, is it done cropping the depth image? (cropping it with Face Tracking Rect) Or is it done directly in world camera space? (maybe using particular translate/scale matrix)
I've seen that you use two skeleton joints to select the head, but I don't understand where you create a cube for isolate the head, I see only the volumeCenter elaboration.
Sorry for my bad english...I hope to be able to explain myself.
Thanks for the reply and the help!

Greeting,

Mattia Thiella
Coordinator
Sep 23, 2013 at 8:05 AM
Hi,

I do have some remnants of face tracking in there but ended upon not using the face tracking data since it loses track as you turn your head too far.

You are almost there in understanding -- the two skeleton joints are used to choose the center of the reconstruction volume. The _volumeCenter field is used in the ResetFusion() method, which passes it to FusionManager.ResetReconstruction(_volumeCenter); In that method, the volumeCenter is used to translate the worldToVolumeTransform, which effectively moves the reconstruction volume around in world space relative to the Kinect.